My Law Life

by Scott Ealy (Effingham, Illinois, USA)

Thankful !!!

-thankful

Thursday, April 30, 2015, will be my last day in the role of Chief Assistant (or First Assistant) State’s Attorney of Effingham County.  It has been a true honor to serve in this important capacity for the past couple of years.

Soon I will take a couple of weeks off – to rest and reflect – before likely resuming a private practice of law.

Serving as a prosecutor under my great friend, State’s Attorney Bryan Kibler, has been a richly rewarding experience.  My office-mates and I have worked hard.  I have learned a lot, and feel fortunate to have made and continued many important and lasting friendships.

The decision to leave was not easy.  My final decision was reached in March, surprisingly, as I was listening to the words of University of Louisville basketball coach Rick Pitino, lamenting the fact that “windows of opportunity” in life remain open only for so long.  The message hit home.

The privilege of serving as Chief Assistant has been all-encompassing for me, and I am proud of this service.  But, each of us occupies a unique mission and multiple roles in life.  Each of these roles demands an adequate devotion of time.

In the future, I hope to make myself more available for other responsibilities, which, of course would include, but not be limited to, legal matters.

As I look back on the past couple of years, I feel very privileged to have been associated with such a brilliant decision-maker as Bryan Kibler.  He and I – and countless others – have worked many long hours together on matters such as the Willow Long case, the region’s heroin crisis, the neglected and mistreated children of our world, and other more typical or routine matters.

Though no prosecutor’s office can push a county into perfection, we have worked ethically to help make our county a better place, I believe.  At all times, we have sought justice tempered with mercy.

As for the immediate future, I am looking forward to a busy schedule of personal involvements, including a family wedding, time with friends, a recommitment to physical fitness activity (maybe even some standup paddleboarding this summer on Lake Sara), volunteer work as a host at this summer’s Relay For Life, and, of course, the challenging legal and business trials of the months and years ahead.

But, I will long remember the privilege of my years in the Effingham County State’s Attorney’s office.  I am thankful for having experienced this opportunity to serve.

Thank you all for this wonderful opportunity!

Scott Ealy

twitter.com/TheScottEaly

attorney@effingham.net

Written by scottealy

April 23, 2015 at 8:43 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

