My Law Life

by Scott Ealy (Effingham, Illinois, USA)

Hot Time In The City – (Susan G. Komen St. Louis 5K)

  

Post-Race Relief On A Hot, Humid Morning - Courtesy Of A St. Louis Fire Department Water Truck

     

  

Like many, I was all decked out in floppy bunny ears provided by the Eveready company.  The bunny ears are a Susan G. Komen “Race For The Cure” tradition.

  

I struggled at the starting line of this charity running event, as I thought about my late cousin.

On a human scale, it seemed so unfair:  Here I was enjoying the day in St. Louis, but Nancy was no longer with us.  She was the kind of person who would do anything to help anybody.  Ask me how I know.

  

Nancy met the love of her life in her 40s.  They married.  His children became their children, and they became a loving family.

However, Nancy was claimed by breast cancer a few short years later.

She is greatly missed.

  

  

  

  

  

[I ran on Saturday in memory of my paternal cousin Nancy Bock of Springfield, previously of Shumway, IL, and my maternal grandmother Martha Greene of Clifton, previously of Chicago, IL].

  

  

  

  

  

  

Scott Ealy

  

Written by scottealy

June 11, 2010 at 2:19 pm

